Uncategorized

The trouble with idealism – Poem

Human heat?  Hello listener, cut

off the coiled inertia here, come and

talk some sense into me.  I

once rolled clay into snakes

and snaked it into the long

thin tube half vase, half

 

hydraulic smoking vessel.

Then I fired it into

a rocketship shaped beer stein.

A flop of a try, I lowered

my standards.  All hail Stafford.  All hell is like

high school heartbreak.  I knew behind

 

the clutch of each clothespin and safety pin

I’d never contain this.  M said

the experience was nothing new

that we each feel

 

different.  Nobody belongs.

Confetti settled around her despair

and I tipped my pilsner to head to my

electric heated Mazda 3.

 

Some listeners have been lesseners

and despite this, I keep climbing

 

towards union.  A state

like shivasana, flat gathered

 

releif that neither dulls nor

sets you on fire.

Leave a Reply

