Poetry

She works hard for the money – Poem

She works hard for the money*
~ A mashup/cento for CK Wilde**

Damn, ain’t it funny how we
all about the Benji’s? Share it fairly
You wanna get paid
Money trees is the perfect place
for shade. Now give me money,
that’s what I want.
Won’t you give a dollar
since ya got so many?
Ask the rich man he’ll confess
Money can’t buy happiness
Ask the poor man he don’t doubt
But he’d rather be
miserable with than without.
Your lovin’ give me such a thrill,
But your lovin’ (still) don’t pay my bills;
Those greenback dollars go
1 for the money, 2 for the show
Now clap your hands
if you got a bankroll
The best things in life are free
But you can keep ’em
bitch please. A dollar might,
just make that lane switch
Money’s walkin’, money’s walkin’
In my dreams I have a plan
If I got me a wealthy man
But if you ask for a rise
it’s no surprise they’re giving none away
Dough like the cash flow, finna
keep my focus. Boy y’ain’t know
that money make the world go

*I do not have copyright or the like, if it is requested that I take it down, I will.  Lines of this poem have all be borrowed-but credit is due to Dean Martin & Jerry Lewis, Donna Summer, Pink Floyd, Kendrick Lamar, nappy roots, Barret Strong, Rick James, Lil Wayne, ABBA, LL Cool J, Snoop Dog

 

**CK Wilde is a visual artist who creates mind-blowing collages out of cut-up money.  Look here.

Leave a Reply

