Poetry

The flavor of coffee – poem

 

 

My friend says she can’t drink coffee

because she’s an empath.

 

The reasons clarify after Time Magazine

declared it true. And I suppose it’s a see-

 

saw to my 8-10 cups a day. One day

I may run out, the earth may run out, global

warming will be warned along the way;

 

the Chronicle and Post will wail

like the ads on facebook

for a user on mute.

 

But whether I’m an empath

seems the point here. She’s stating

 

her claim on pain; she feels too much,

like me. And here we are, two sentient

beings on Earth, debating

 

verisimilitude or better yet

attitude. There is a gash

in her understanding;

 

I see it because I see my own

(That makes me both egocentric

and empathic).

 

Sorrow quarantines us,

and the love we ask for doesn’t always

 

arrive. I am here. I have

borrowed insights like I have borrowed

 

stars. How do we sooth ourselves

when no one else will? Were do we

 

go? There is an actual town in Texas

called Earth, with a population

 

of maybe 1100. I’d like to take a trip

there, document the phatic how-do-you-dos,

 

and translate into tone. But that would

take a lot of coffee, and I’d want

my friend to be there too.

 

Leave a Reply

